Monday, April 18, 2011

Trinis Crowned 2011 Night Cricket Champions!!

Lauderhill - MAQ T20 International Night Cricket Tournament

For the first time in ten seasons, Trinidad & Tobago defeated Jamaica by 13 runs to raise the Champions Mayor’s Cup of the renowned Lauderhill - MAQ T20 International Night Cricket Tournament. Last Saturday Night’s Championship Match had Jamaica defending its string of titles against Trinidad & Tobago who was competing in the finals for the second time at the Lauderhill Sport’s Park.

After losing the toss and invited to bat by the Jamaicans, Trinidad & Tobago captain and tournament MVP Timothy Surujbally hit a bazooka 66 from 29 balls to the lead the Trinis to 194 for 6 from 20 overs. Surujbally unleased five delightful fours and seven powerful sixes as he entertained the large crowd with delectable stroke play. After his dismissal, Leon Garrick slummed 50 runs from 40 balls including three fours and four sixes, while Joey Pierre scored 21 and Baliram Nayaik 18. Bowling for Jamaica, Herlando Johnson bagged 3 for 33, while Ken Wright grabbed 1 for 11, Andrew Williams 1 for 32 and Eian Thomas 1 for 37.

In reply, the Jamaicans run chase was blunted from the inception when Gaston Walker (4-0-37-1) had captained Ken Wright caught and bowled with the third ball of the innings for a duck. Ravi Samlal added to the Jamaicans early misery when he removed power hitters Steven Taylor for 22 and Mark Johnson for 17. The Jamaican’s batsmen struggled to assert themselves and were unable to construct any meaningful partnerships until Glen Anglin’s robust hitting allow them a chance of victory.

Anglin blasted 81 from 41 balls including six fours and seven sixes and shared a six wicket partnership with Keyonie Gayle who scored 20. The Jamaican’s innings ended on 181 in 18.3 overs as the curtains was brought down on another successful Lauderhill Maq T20 International Night Cricket Tournament with the Trinis leaping to victory after Herlando Johnson was brilliantly run out by Stephen Baboolal.

Through the endorsements of the South Florida Cricket Alliance and Florida Southeast Cricket League, the Night Cricket Tournament has achieved the reputation as cricket’s largest and most-popular night tournament. Underwritten by Cricket Council USA, a sports and entertainment management Company and the City of Lauderhill, this year’s tournament enjoying record-breaking crowds each Saturday night at the Lauderhill Sports Park were fans have been thrilled by the high level of cricket competition.

After the game, Mayor Richard J. Kaplan, City of Lauderhill and CCUSA CEO, Mohammed A. Qureshi award the Mayor’s Cup and winning purse from Cricket Council USA. Mr. Qureshi and Mayor Kaplan hailed the explosive Trinidad & Tobago team members, as they notched their first Championship.

The finals dubbed the “Cricket Night of Champions” were highlighted by an exhibition game by the members of the Worldwide Cricket Academy of Lauderhill, followed by the effervescent sounds of Steel Pan music by Jonathan Baboolal. The spectators were dazzled by special guest appearance by the SunDanz Dance Company cheerleaders and the South Florida Carnival Bandleaders featuring some of the 2011 masquerade bands in costume, with each band’s masqueraders wearing exotic and extravagant costumes.

1 comment:

web dagger said...

Hey Thanks a lot For sharing the information..........

I like T20 games a lot......

By the way check out the upcoming Major tournament Champions League 2011 like Dates, Teams , Nokia Champions league t20, Venues, CLT20 2011 Schedule, Qualified teams, Results and more from Champions League T20 2011 Schedule and Nokia Champions league t20 2011