Sunday, November 19, 2006

Bates Wins Council Member Of The Year

November 17, the Florida League of Cities handed out its 3rd Annual City of Excellence Awards in Orlando. The City of Lauderhill submitted for 5 of the 9 categories, and 4 of our applicants were declared finalists. Rev. Herron for City Citizen of the Year, Kennie Hobbs, Jr. for Finance Director of the Year, The City of Lauderhill Unite-A-Fest Celebration for City Spirit Award, and Deputy Vice Mayor Margaret Bates for Council Member of the Year.

While we had hoped that all of them would be named the winner of their respective category, because we believe them to be extraordinary, Commissioner Bates did in fact win, for which we are all very proud of her. Her accomplishments are noteworthy, and she is an example of what is best in an elected position for cities. She now joins Mayor Kaplan as the city's other winner of the award (he won for Mayor of the Year in 2004).

No comments: