Monday, April 13, 2009

Lauderhill College Essay Scholarship Winners Announced

At the April 13th Commission Meeting, the winners of the 2nd Annual Lauderhill College Essay Scholarship was announced. The winners will each receive $500 to go towards their college education. The Lauderhill Educational Advisory Committee selected the winners solely based upon 2 submitted 500 word essays.

The winners, high schools they attended, and colleges they are going to attend are:

Shantaya Dawes, Pompano Beach High, University of South Florida
Shayla Davis, Dillard High, University of Florida
Tiara Robinson, Pompano Beach High, Florida Atlantic University
Dana Warman, Plantation High, Florida Atlantic University

Funding for this program obtained from the Federal Crime Confiscation Fund, which was allocated to Mayor Richard J Kaplan, to use at his discretion on approved programs.

No comments: